Subject: Re: [boost] [filesystem] [svn] How to remove V2 files without loss of V3 history?
From: Frank Birbacher (bloodymir.crap_at_[hidden])
Date: 2012-03-20 18:49:52
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
I've read the discussion and want to provide some words of caution.
Am 18.03.12 14:14, schrieb Steven Watanabe:
> cd boost/filesystem svn cp ^/trunk/boost/filesystem
> ^/branches/filesystem_v3/boost/filesystem svn switch
> ^/trunk/boost/filesystem svn rm *.hpp svn mv v3/*.hpp . svn rm v2
> v3 # modify headers svn commit -m "Remove Filesystem V2" svn switch
> ^/trunk/boost/filesystem svn merge --reintegrate
> ^/branches/filesystem_v3/boost/filesystem svn commit -m "Merge back
> to trunk"
The --reintegrate option requires a merge of trunk to the branch
beforehand if there have been commits to trunk since creation of the
branch. Simply not using this option will merge the changes into the
trunk correctly here.
Using a separate branch to do the work will encourage a single merge
into the trunk at the end. The commit "Merge back to trunk" will
delete files and create moved files in their place. This triggers the
git move problem Daniel mentioned. You can merge two times, though,
by first merging just up to that revision that deleted the files and
then merging the rest.
Creating the branch from /trunk enables working on /boost/filesystem
and /libs/filesystem at the same time at no additional costs with svn.
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG/MacGPG2 v2.0.17 (Darwin)
Comment: GPGTools - http://gpgtools.org
Comment: keyserver x-hkp://pool.sks-keyservers.net
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
Boost list run by bdawes at acm.org, gregod at cs.rpi.edu, cpdaniel at pacbell.net, john at johnmaddock.co.uk