Subject: Re: [boost] [filesystem] [svn] How to remove V2 files without loss of V3 history?
From: Frank Birbacher (bloodymir.crap_at_[hidden])
Date: 2012-03-23 18:46:26
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Am 23.03.12 10:44, schrieb Beman Dawes:
>> The commit "Merge back to trunk" will delete files and create
>> moved files in their place. This triggers the git move problem
>> Daniel mentioned.
> IIUC, you are saying that in svn, deleting a file and then moving
> another in its place in a single commit will lose the history of
> the new file. Also that git would have the same problem.
I meant something different here. On the branch: if you commit
deletion of files separate from the commit of new (moved) files in
their place you have one commit that deletes some files and another
commit that creates files. This is good. When you merge the whole
branch back to trunk and commit there you will end up with one commit
on the trunk that contains all changes, e.g. it will delete and
recreate files in one go. This is perfectly fine with SVN. IIUC, it
will break history in git.
To put it differently: on the branch there can be 1, 5, or 100
commits, but the merge on the trunk will be just a single commit
containing all changes.
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG/MacGPG2 v2.0.17 (Darwin)
Comment: GPGTools - http://gpgtools.org
Comment: keyserver x-hkp://pool.sks-keyservers.net
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
Boost list run by bdawes at acm.org, gregod at cs.rpi.edu, cpdaniel at pacbell.net, john at johnmaddock.co.uk