Subject: Re: [boost] [filesystem] [svn] How to remove V2 files without loss of V3 history?
From: Dave Abrahams (dave_at_[hidden])
Date: 2012-03-18 20:33:48
on Sun Mar 18 2012, Daniel James <dnljms-AT-gmail.com> wrote:
> On 18 March 2012 17:36, Dave Abrahams <dave_at_[hidden]> wrote:
>> on Sun Mar 18 2012, Daniel James <dnljms-AT-gmail.com> wrote:
>>> On 18 March 2012 15:27, Dave Abrahams <dave_at_[hidden]> wrote:
>>>> on Sun Mar 18 2012, Daniel James <dnljms-AT-gmail.com> wrote:
>>>>> Also, if we eventually switch to git, I don't think git will
>>>>> understand that the file has moved, since there was already a file in
>>>>> the new location. There might be a benefit to having an intermediate
>>>>> version with the file missing (although, there might not, I don't how
>>>>> well the git conversion will handle it).
>>>> I don't think so. Â John's SVN->Git conversion knows about svn mv
>>>> operations, but if you delete and recreate a file somewhere else it
>>>> isn't going to realize you moved something.
> I wasn't saying the file should be deleted and recreated. I was saying
> that the file in the destination should be deleted in a revision
> before the file is moved to that destination. So that git will
> understand that they are different files. i.e.
> svn rm boost/filesystem/path.hpp
> svn commit
> svn mv boost/filesystem/v3/path.hpp boost/filesystem/path.hpp
> svn commit
> (although obviously not doing a single file at a time)
Ah. Thanks for explaining.
-- Dave Abrahams BoostPro Computing http://www.boostpro.com
Boost list run by bdawes at acm.org, gregod at cs.rpi.edu, cpdaniel at pacbell.net, john at johnmaddock.co.uk