Subject: Re: [boost] [filesystem] [svn] How to remove V2 files without loss of V3 history?
From: Steven Watanabe (watanabesj_at_[hidden])
Date: 2012-03-23 11:13:59
On 03/23/2012 02:44 AM, Beman Dawes wrote:
>> The commit "Merge back to trunk" will
>> delete files and create moved files in their place. This triggers the
>> git move problem Daniel mentioned.
> IIUC, you are saying that in svn, deleting a file and then moving
> another in its place in a single commit will lose the history of the
> new file. Also that git would have the same problem.
SVN should handle this just fine.
> I can confirm that did indeed happen in svn. The history was OK on the
> branch, but was badly whacked after merging back to the trunk working
That's odd. I tried doing a merge to trunk_at_77491
with svn 1.7.4 and it seemed to work correctly.
The command I uses was:
svn merge https://svn.boost.org/svn/boost/branches/filesystem-v3
I tried svn log boost/filesystem/config.hpp
and the output looked right.
>> You can merge two times, though,
>> by first merging just up to that revision that deleted the files and
>> then merging the rest.
> Nuts. I didn't happen to do branch commits at exactly the right point
> in the process.
> I'll repeat the process per your suggestion, and report back.
>> Creating the branch from /trunk enables working on /boost/filesystem
>> and /libs/filesystem at the same time at no additional costs with svn.
> And allowed testing along the way. That was important as a number of
> issues came up that had to be dealt with.
Boost list run by bdawes at acm.org, gregod at cs.rpi.edu, cpdaniel at pacbell.net, john at johnmaddock.co.uk